With current restrictions in place in Victoria, please allow an extra two weeks for delivery of bowls.

Matthew Higgins (Diesel)

State: Victoria

Club: Sale Bowls Club

Bowl Used: Edge Raptors (Illusion)

Why do you use Edge Bowls? I’ve been using edge bowls since 2006, right after seeing them used by Steve Glasson. I tried them out and decided I liked the draw of the bowl and how they fitted my hand, they’re great bowls and I’ve managed to perform very well with them. 

How and when did you start bowling? I started bowling in 2002. I was constantly in the environment supporting my father Shane Higgins, who is a former vision impaired world champion and eventually decided to give it a go. It took a while for me to get the knack - but I haven’t stopped since!  

Career Achievements: I have been playing competitively since 2006. My greatest achievements include playing for Under 18, Under 25 and Senior State Victorian teams. 

Which bowlers do you enjoy playing with or against? I’ve always loved playing with and against my father. I love playing with friends for the social aspect, and I love playing against state or Australian representatives as they offer a great challenge. I enjoy rising to the occasion.

What would you do if you weren’t bowling: I would probably spend more time dancing and potentially auditioning for more stage productions.

What is your biggest accomplishment in bowls to date? I was the silver medallist in the Victorian State Singles in 2015-2016.

What would be your ultimate bowls achievement? I would love to represent Australia. 

Do you have any heroes or people who inspire you? My father Shane Higgins has been my biggest role model, along with Barry Lester, John Snell and Steve Blasson. They’re all excellent bowlers.

Do you have a saying or motto that you live your life by? Never give up, never surrender. 

What song best describes your work ethic? ‘Playing to Win’ by Little River Band

VIEW FULL GEE UP. PRE-GAME playlist >

What’s the most interesting, non-bowls related thing about you? Probably the fact that I’ve been dancing since I was 5 years old! I’ve done Ballroom, Jazz, Hip Hop, West Coast Swing and have recently started competing in Rock n Roll.